Friday, May 6, 2011

The Heritage of Lancaster County

The Shunning (The Heritage of Lancaster County #1)
I have just finished the final book in The Heritage of Lancaster County series today and highly recommend all three books.  If you have never read a Beverly Lewis book before, this series is a good place to start.  Beverly Lewis writes, primarily, books set in the Amish community and about her characters' journey to faith in Jesus Christ as Savior.  While I enjoy many comforts of technology and electricity, her books always remind me that life can be much simpler.   

The Confession (The Heritage of Lancaster County #2)The Shunning by Beverly Lewis is the first book in The Heritage of Lancaster County series.  The Shunning is a book about an Amish girl, Katie, who finds out her life could have been different and the path that leads to her being shunned by the Amish community.  I really don't want to spoil much of the book so I'll leave it at that.  Beverly Lewis does a superb job at explaining the different Amish customs mentioned in her book without the reader feeling like there has been a lecture. 

The second book in the series is The Confession and the final book is The Reckoning (The Heritage of Lancaster County #3)The Reckoning.  Each book leaves you wanting more and makes you think about life and how the little moments can change the course of your life.  Beverly Lewis does a superb job of weaving the gospel into her stories and bringing her characters to life. 
Even if you don't choose to start reading this series, every Beverly Lewis book is a great one!

1 comment:

  1. That's a great series! I started with that one too. :)